
Average ROI on SEO
The Average SEO ROI is 989%

Table of Contents
SEO ROI by Industry
The ROI of SEO for Ecommerce Businesses
Is the Average SEO ROI Worth the Investment?
When is the Return for Your Website Worth the Cost of SEO?
Related Questions on the ROI of SEO

SEO ROI by Industry
Then we encourage you to try it and see the results of a low cost SEO campaign for yourself. On the other hand, if you have an established business with success in your industry and want to get to the next level, then SEO digital marketing is a must. Here is a three-year average breakdown of the SEO ROI in 19 of the most popular business industries with the timeline for your business to break even on your investment in SEO:
The ROI is 736%, and the typical time to break even is 8 months.
The average ROI is 702%, and the expected time to break even is 7 months.
The ROI of SEO in the Biotech industry is 788%, and the time to break even is 8 months.
The ROI of SEO for construction businesses is 681%, and the time to break even is 5 months using Google Analytics.
The ROI of SEO for eCommerce is 317%, and the time to break even is 16 months using analytics.
The ROI of SEO for financial services is 1,031%, and the time to break even is 9 months using analytics.
The ROI of SEO for Higher Education & College is 994%, and the time to break even is 13 months using analytics.
The ROI of SEO for HVAC Services is 678%, and the time to break even is 6 months using analytics.
The ROI of SEO for Industrial IoT is 866%, and the time to break even is 7 months using analytics.
The ROI of SEO for Commercial Insurance is 758%, and the time to break even is 9 months.
The ROI of SEO for IT Staffing is 612%, and the time to break even is 10 months.
The ROI of SEO for Legal Services is 526%, and the time to break even is 14 months.
The ROI of SEO for Manufacturing companies is 813%, and the time to break even is 9 months.
The ROI of SEO for Medical Device Companies is 1,183%, and the time to break even is 13 months.
The ROI of SEO for Oil & Gas companies is 906%, and the time to break even is 10 months.
The ROI of SEO for PCBD Design & Manufacturing is 1,101%, and the time to break even is 11 months.
The ROI of SEO for pharmaceutical companies is 826%, and the time to break even is 9 months.
The ROI of SEO for real estate companies is 1,389%, and the time to break even is 10 months.
The ROI of SEO for solar energy companies is 770%, and the time to break even is 9 months.
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The ROI of SEO for Ecommerce Businesses
Here are some examples of how omnichannel lead generation could work for your ecommerce sales funnel:
- You create a strong search marketing strategy where you understand your ideal customers and their journey on Google and how their stages of awareness affect their interaction with your brand. You create content that ranks on Google for what your customers are searching for at every stage, from when they are Unaware of their problem, Aware of their problem, Aware of their solution, Aware of your solution, and Most Aware of your solution where they are ready to make a purchase. After 12 months, your website receives thousands of clicks every month. Still, your website only converts a small percentage of those clicks directly to sales, around 1% to 5%. To convert more website visitors, you begin to offer something valuable to your website visitors in exchange for their email addresses. You begin marketing to these emails and are now converting 5% to 15% of your website visitors. To convert even more, you begin running retargeting ads on social media. Now, you are converting 15% to 35% of your website visitors.
Let’s break down what really happened there by using a diagram:
- Create a strong marketing and sales strategy.
- Deploy an investment into people managing your website’s SEO and generate thousands of rankings and clicks to your website page. As a result, your website page is now converting 1% to 5% of your traffic to a new customer each month.
- Create something valuable and give it away free to collect email addresses from your website content traffic. Then market to that traffic via emails and increase your conversions between 5% to 15%.
Here is another example of how omnichannel marketing could work for your ecommerce sales team:
- You ran a paid advertisement on social media, which got people searching for your brand on Google. Then you rank for your brand name on Google to capitalize on this organic traffic. When these visitors find your website on Google, you offer them something valuable for free to capture their email address. Then you continue the conversation with them using email marketing and retarget your email list using TikTok ads until they convert to revenue via organic traffic on Google.
Let’s break down what really happened there by using a diagram:
- Paid Advertisement on social media (Generates awareness of your new product) – >
- The awareness generates searches for your brand on Google ->
- You offer something valuable for free to your website visitors to capture their email address ->
- You email your website visitors to move them further down their sales journey ->
- You run retargeting ads on social media to your website visitors to get them to visit your website on Google and make a purchase.
Is the Average SEO ROI Worth the Investment?
For instance, if a customer purchases from you for 10 years and spends $10 per year, then your customer’s lifetime value for your business is $100 minus any money you spend to acquire that customer. SEO is one of the only customer acquisition tactics where the traffic and revenue grow exponentially over time and continues even if you stop investing in SEO. Compared to paid advertising campaigns, where you make a set ROI based on the number of purchases you made during the campaign. Once the campaign stops, all revenue stops too. The ROI for SEO is nearly infinite since the traffic and revenue you gain during your SEO investment continue even after you stop.

When is the Return for Your Website Worth the Cost of SEO?
Then calculate the average order value and customer lifetime revenue; from here, you want to calculate the total customer lifetime value revenue that was added. The difference between the total customer lifetime revenue added and the cost of your organic growth Google services is your ROI which calculates the return on investment from your SEO efforts. You could track all of this data using Google Analytics for free or pay for SEMrush for access to session and leads data in deeper detail from organic search on Google and social.

Related Questions on the ROI of SEO
What is the ROI on SEO Marketing?
Does SEO Have a High ROI?
To calculate SEO, you need to wait sometime after the work on a campaign ends or project 12 months into the future using historical data in Google Analytics. Next, take the total customer lifetime revenue from new customers added due to organic leads and SEO revenue growth. Subtract your leads generation investment, and you have your total rate of return from search engine optimization. Using Google Analytics, you can track your conversion rate, customer lifetime revenue, average order value, leads, and total revenue.