Do You Need a License to Sell CBD-Infused Products Online
The Consequences of Selling Without a License and How to Sell CBD Products with a License
Hemp-derived CBD products are regulated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), a federal agency in the USA. Since a federal agency in the USA regulates CBD, yes, you will need a license. One is a business license you are required to obtain for your online CBD business. If you purchase CBD-infused products wholesale from a reputable source in the USA to sell retail online and you do not want to pay sales tax, then you will need a reseller’s license.
If you are considering selling CBD online in Canada, you must have a business license. CBD is subject to the rules of the Cannabis Act and is regulated by Health Canada. Due to the federal regulation of CBD, you are required to obtain a business license, and you need an AGLC cannabis license before you are allowed to sell CBD products online in Canada.
Do You Need a License to Sell CBD Infused Products in the USA?
Outside of a business license and maybe a reseller’s license if you are reselling CBD that you purchased wholesale. Each state would issue the only other licenses that may be required within the USA. Here are the states that require licenses and the licenses that are required:
Which States Require a License to Sell CBD Oil Online?
CBD in Alabama
Whether you are selling CBD oil online or in person, you must obtain a hemp processor/handler license to sell CBD in Alabama. A $200 application fee, a $1,000 annual fee, and criminal background checks are required annually by the Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries. You could legally buy CBD in Alabama without registering.
CBD in Alaska
Since the passing of Senate Bill 6 in Alaska, you must obtain a CBD retail license to sell a CBD product in Alaska. There is the following fee schedule:
- $100 non-refundable application fee ($50 non-refundable application fee for renewals);
- $200 annual grower registration fee;
- $250 annual processor registration fee (for products not intended for animal or human consumption);
- $650 annual processor registration fee (for products intended for animal or human consumption);
- $300 annual retailer registration fee.
You should learn how to apply for a CBD license in Alaska here.
CBD in Arkansas
If the CBD products you are selling online in Arkansas are “in the program” or “out of the program,” licensing may or may not be needed to sell CBD products.
CBD in California
If you want to sell CBD online in California, you will have to obtain a number of different licenses. CBD derived from hemp is illegal in California. Only CBD derived from marijuana is legal and requires several different cannabis licenses depending on the types of CBD products you sell.
CBD in Colorado
In the State of Colorado, you should not need a license to sell a CBD product, except if you are selling CBD products at an event in Denver, then you need a tax license.
CBD in Delaware
According to the Delaware Domestic Hemp Production Program, “Any business or individual intending to grow, cultivate or distribute hemp product, including transplants, seedlings, or clones. This applies to any number of plants grown for any purpose, including personal use, is required to obtain a permit.”
CBD in Florida
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services says the following, “Any establishment that manufactures, processes, packs, holds, prepares or sells hemp extract product intended for human consumption is considered a hemp food establishment and is required to have a food establishment permit from the Division of Food Safety to operate in Florida.” This includes CBD products.
CBD in Indiana
To offer CBD products for retail sale, you must obtain a CBD sales product certification from the Indiana Board of Pharmacy.
To offer a consumable CBD product for sale in Iowa, you must register with the Iowa Department of Inspections & Appeals. If you are infusing CBD with food, you will also need to obtain a food permit.
To sell a CBD product in the state of Kentucky then, you need to obtain permission from the Kentucky Department of Agriculture.
The Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control requires businesses that sell a CBD product to register with their office.
The Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry (DACF) requires companies that provide CBD oil products for retail in the state to register with the DACF.
In Maryland, it is illegal to infuse CBD with food even if you are licensed.
Products that contain CBD, which is being offered in the retail product market, must obtain a Processor Permit issued by the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD).
You are required to obtain a local business license from each county where you are bringing products containing CBD to market. Food products that contain CBD are not allowed in Nevada.
Yes, each business offering CBD products for sale in New York must obtain a Cannabinoid Hemp Retail Permit from the New York State Office of Cannabis Management.
Food products containing CBD require a food permit from the Oklahoma State CBD Products Department of Health to be brought to market by a CBD business in the state.
Suppose you plan on receiving orders for ingestible products containing CBD derived from hemp intended for human or animal consumption in Rhode Island. In that case, you need a CBD Retailer Permit. Including cookies or any edibles.
The Department of State Health Services requires those who are ecommerce retailing CBD to register with the department.
Any business that wants to retail CBD in Utah must register with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
You will need a Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board registration in Washington.
West Virginia has strict registration requirements for marketing vendors of CBD cannabis.
If you are marketing CBD to Wisconsin, you must register and meet the labeling requirements when you label CBD products.
If you are marketing CBD to Wyoming, you need a Hemp Registration with the Wyoming Department of Agriculture.
Where Can You Market CBD Without a License in the USA?
There is no specific license required to sell CBD products online in Arizona.
If the CBD products you are selling in Arkansas are “in the program” or “out of the program,” licensing may or may not be needed.
You do not need a permit to sell CBD products in Colorado. The only exception is Denver; if you sell CBD products at an event, you need a tax license.
According to state laws in Connecticut, you do not need a permit to sell CBD products retail as long as you are not processing or manufacturing CBD.
Georgia does not require you to obtain a permit for retailing CBD products in the state.
Hawaii does not require you to obtain a permit for retailing CBD products in the state.
Idaho does not require obtaining a permit to retail CBD products in the state. The Idaho State Department of Agriculture says, ” ISDA does not require licenses for retailers. For additional information, please refer to section 37-2701 of the Idaho Code. As a reminder, CBD must have a zero percent (0%) level of THC in Idaho. “
In Illinois, you do not need a product license to offer CBD products for sale. However, if you are offering CBD products infused with food for sale, you need additional permission from Illinois’s health department.
In Kansas, you do not need a permit to sell CBD in the state.
You do not need a permit to sell CBD at retail in Massachusetts. You are not allowed to combine CBD in food products within the state of Massachusetts.
You are not allowed to combine CBD in food products within the state of Minnesota. You do not need a permit to sell CBD at retail in Minnesota.
You do not need a permit to sell products that contain CBD at retail in Mississippi.
You do not need a permit to sell products that contain CBD at retail in Missouri.
You are not allowed to combine CBD in food products within the state of Montana. You do not need a permit to sell CBD at retail in Montana. However, if you are a licensed dispensary that would like to sell products containing CBD, then you are out of luck. The recent passing of HB 701 has made it illegal for dispensaries to bring CBD to market.
You do not need a permit to sell products containing CBD at retail in Nebraska.
You do not need a permit to sell products containing CBD at retail in New Hampshire.
You do not need a permit to market products containing CBD at retail in New Jersey.
You do not need a permit to market products containing CBD at retail in New Mexico.
There are currently no laws preventing you from retailing products that contain CBD without a permit in the state of North Carolina.
You do not need the state’s permission to retail products containing CBD in North Dakota.
You do not need a permit to retail products containing CBD, but you need to make sure those products meet Ohio’s food safety standards and were inspected by the appropriate local or state agency.
As long as your products containing CBD are produced from hemp, then you do not need a permit from the state of Oregon.
As long as your products containing CBD are derived from hemp, then you do not need a permit in Pennsylvania.
No, the South Carolina Department of Agriculture does not require permits for retailing hemp cannabis products that contain CBD. The FDA is in charge of regulating the retailing of hemp cannabis products that contain CBD.
The South Dakota State Cannabis Organization says that South Dakota does not require permits for retailing hemp cannabis products containing CBD under law HB 1008.
There are no special permits required for ecommerce retailing CBD in Tennessee.
In Vermont, you can provide CBD to the general public, but you have to pay a sales tax of 6% even if the CBD is in food.
You could find CBD products being offered for retail in Virginia without permits legally.
Marketing CBD cannabis for retail in Washington D.C. does not require permits.
Consequences of Selling CBD Oil Without a License in the USA
Do You Need a License to Sell CBD Products in Canada?
Each province and territory in Canada is responsible for determining how CBD is distributed and sold within their jurisdictions.
Which Provinces Require a License to Sell CBD Products Online?
Every province and territory in Canada requires you to have an AGLC cannabis retailer registration to sell CBD.
Where Can You Market CBD Without a License in Canada?
Unlike the USA, there is nowhere in Canada where you can ship CBD without an AGLC registration.
Consequences of Selling CBD Online Without a License in Canada
Unlike the USA, CBD is considered a controlled substance in Canada, and you would be committing the equivalent of a felony in the USA in addition to more crimes if you are caught possessing and marketing CBD without registration.
Common Questions About Selling CBD Infused Products Online
Can You Sell CBD Infused Products Online?
Yes, however, you need to be certain to check the local laws to ensure that you are compliant.
Can You Sell Homemade CBD Products?
Yes, as long you have the proper registration required.
Can You Sell CBD Infused Products on Etsy?
No Etsy has banned CBD as an unsafe substance on their platform, so you cannot sell CBD on Etsy.